Skip to main content

The British American Football Association (BAFA) is launching a new Hall of Fame to recognise outstanding British players, coaches, officials and administrators. Alongside this, work has started on a new website dedicated to the heritage and history of the sport in this country.

BAFA wants to acknowledge and honour the contributions of the many individuals who have made their mark on the British game over its 35 competitive seasons.

The Hall of Fame will celebrate the people of British American football and those who have been integral to its success and growth. The whole community will have the opportunity to nominate those who they feel should be enshrined. A selection committee of individuals who represent different formats and periods of the game will be appointed to assess the nominations.

In tandem, and to bring together the rich history of British American football, Britball veteran Dave Tidswell will create a new heritage website detailing the development and growth of the sport. Dave started his football journey as a player in the 1980s and has been involved in the British game ever since.

Pete Ackerley, BAFA Chief Executive, said:

“The new British American football Hall of Fame is a fantastic way to celebrate, acknowledge and thank the many talented and dedicated people who have contributed to our great game. From outstanding players and coaches through to dedicated officials and volunteers, the Hall of Fame will give our community the chance to nominate and commend those many individuals who have made a positive and lasting impression on our sport.

“This is very much a collaborative project that the whole Britball community can get involved in, and I look forward to your support in delivering it.

“I’m also delighted that Dave Tidwell has offered to create a new heritage website that will celebrate the amazing history of British American football.”

Details will follow in due course on how nominations can be made for the Hall of Fame, along with confirmation of the selection committee.