Skip to main content

BAFA are delighted to congratulate the Birmingham Bulls as they celebrate their fortieth competitive season of play in 2023.

One of Britball’s longest tenured teams, they have an illustrious history which includes being the British Champions on four occasions.

Bulls in the heyday

From the very early days of Football in Britain they have been at the forefront of the game, winning their first national title in 1986 when they defeated the Glasgow Lions by a convincing 23 to 2 scoreline.

In 1988 they beat The Olympians 30-6, with Americans, quarterback Russ Jensen at the helm and receiver Greg Harris, they were unstoppable.

In 1991 they were back in the final, this time edging their old rivals The Olympians in a thrilling encounter 39-38. 1995 saw them complete a trilogy of wins over the O’s, it was another close one, this time they secured a 34-30 victory.

As you might expect from such a storied franchise, they have produced numerous high-profile players. Running back Trevor Carthy, who also played for the London Monarchs in the NFL World League and linebackers Dave Chambers and Paul Newey are all members of the British American Football Hall Of Fame. The club also supplied numerous players for the early Great British Lions sides as they became European Champions in 1989 and 1991.

Currently they are active in the BAFNL NFC1 South. As they look to return to the premier tier of Britball, we wish them continued success.