Skip to main content

BAFA Hall of Fame

It’s taken almost forty years for British American Football to have an official Hall of Fame, but it has been established in order that we can recognise the excellence of the many people who have made outstanding contributions to its development.

For the inaugural 2021 class we had a difficult task to get us to the point where we had the thirty individuals that we wanted to induct. A project leader was appointed who has a long history with Britball. Dave Tidswell was a player in the eighties and has maintained a close association with the game, acting as a uniball coach, adult league general manager and historian of Britball. He pulled together a twelve-person selection committee who are all well respected individuals from within the British game and who represented the diverse elements of our sport.

The Britball community nominated over one hundred and seventy different individuals for consideration, some were players, some were coaches and others were administrators and officials. The selection committee deliberated for many days and hours before coming up with their final list for submission to the BAFA board.

We thought it was important to recognise achievement from across the decades. The players of today most likely haven’t heard of the London Ravens or the Streatham Olympians, the Nottingham Hoods or the Manchester Spartans. They probably don’t realise that the Great Britain Lions have twice been European Champions. They wouldn’t know that the British Senior League was once semi-professional and was sponsored by Budweiser and Coca Cola, or that former NFL and Division one college players were once common amongst the top teams. It’s also unlikely that they would know that elite British players were active as professionals in the NFL Europe League.

Of course, it’s not just about the players, great contributions have been made by Coaches and Administrators and we are delighted to be able to recognise them too.

Within this section of the website, you will find images and biographies for all the members of the Hall of Fame, saved in discrete groups by their year of induction. Each member of the HOF receives a personalised Golden Helmet a Certificate of Induction and a Hall of Fame members pin.

Class of 2021

Class of 2022

Mark Moss – Coach
Jim Briggs – Administrator
Colin Nash – Player
Darryn Trainor – Player
Matt Meyer – Player
Gladstone McKenzie – Player
Phil Alexander – Player
Frank Leadon – Administrator
Leonard Valentine – Player

Steve McCusker – Player
Jeremy Simms – Player
Joe St Louis – Player
Kevin Keohane – Player
Wendy Bamford – Administrator
Jim Burns – Player
Paul Newey – Player
Dave Norton – Administrator

Class of 2021 (Inaugural)


Victor Muhammad – Player
Trevor Carthy– Player
Bob Dean – Player
Nigel Dias – Player
Nigel Hoyte – Player
Dave Chambers – Player
John Aska – Player
Gerry Anderson – Player
Allan Brown –Player
Mark Wynnick – Player
Scott Couper – Player
Richard Dunkley – Player
Leeroy Innis – Wide Receiver (RIP)
Roger Hedges – Administrator (RIP)
Stephen Hutchinson – Player

Rowelle Blenman – Player
Tony Mackenzie – Player
Tom Tovo – Player
Scott Rowe –Player
Clive Palumbo –Player
Neil “Neo” Edwards –Player (RIP)
Jason Brisbane –Player
Mark Lockwood –Player
Gary Lee – Administrator
Alan Wilson – Coach and Official (RIP)
Aden Durde – Player
Gerry McManus – Coach (RIP)
Lance Cone – Coach/Administrator (RIP)
Anthony Stitt– Player
Beau Riffenburgh – Coach/Administrator