Women’s Football

Home > CLUBS & COMPETITIONS > Women’s Football

The British American Football Association delivers three competitions specifically focused upon the growth and development of the women's game.

The Opal Series

The Opal Series is the national championship for women's flag football. The Series sees teams compete across a number of tournaments and accumulate ranking points, the cumulative total of which dictates their ranking for the Finals Day playoffs and National Championship title.

The Sapphire Series

The Sapphire Series is the women's national championship for contact football. The series, which runs from February to April sees teams compete across a number of tournaments in the BAFA 7 v 7 format in Division 1 and the BAFA 5 v 5 format in Division 2. Teams in Division 1 compete for the National Championship title, where Division 2 teams compete for conference titles.

The Diamond Series

The Diamond Series provides players the opportunity to compete in the 11-a-side format of the game. Players are drafted from the Sapphire Series teams and from wider development days to one of two teams - the Red Diamonds or the Blue Diamonds.

The teams then play each other over a series of games to determine the Diamond Series champion.

The women's game has a dedicated Facebook page where people interact as they look to start or get involved with teams. This can be found at Facebook.com/BAFAWomen